Landlord Asks me to Leave, What Are My Rights

Tenant Rights Lawyer in South Florida

When asked to vacate the property, many Tenants comply.  This is a huge mistake.   If you are in a lease with a Landlord, they must give you proper written notice.  This is an essential component of the Florida Eviction Process. Verbal Notice is not sufficient regardless if the lease is for a year or a month.

What are my rights if my Landlord has asked me to leave without giving notice?

Many Tenants believe if their Landlord asks them to leave, they do not have a choice. Unfortunately this happens far too often.  A Landlord must give written notice of termination.  In many instances, if the Tenant does not leave, a Landlord will engage in a Constructive Eviction.  This means that they will attempt to remove the Tenant by locking them out of the property or cut off their utilities.  Fortunately for Tenants, this is strictly prohibited as addressed in Florida Statute 83.67.

Proper Termination of Lease

For a Landlord to properly terminate a lease that is month-to-month, they must give 15 days notice.  Unlike leases that last a year, most month-to-month leases are verbal.   On the other hand, most Residential leases are in writing.  In addition,  there is usually a provision that determines if Notice of Renewal or Termination is required.   If Notice is not required and the Tenant remains in the property after the year ends, they will be considered a Holdover Tenant.

If you are unsure of your rights, contact your Tenant Rights Lawyer in South Florida today at (954) 990-7552.  Brian P. Kowal is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.