When can a Landlord evict a Tenant in the State of Florida?

There are times that the Landlord/Tenant Relationship does not operate smoothly.  Tenants often do not pay rent or comply with the terms of the lease.  As a result, a Landlord must decide if they are going to remove them.  There are several ways they can Evict a Tenant in the State of Florida.  If you are need to remove a Tenant, contact the Law Office of Brian P. Kowal, PA at (954) 990-7552.

A Landlord can Evict Tenant in Florida when the following occur:

(1) A Tenant has failed to pay rent.

When they enter into a lease, they are required to pay rent on time. However, if they fail to pay, they will be served a 3 day notice. If they do not pay, the Landlord can file a Complaint.

(2) A Tenant has committed a non-monetary violation of the lease.

In other words, they may be evicted if they violate a provision of the lease unrelated to payment. This includes:
A. Allowing someone to reside in the property not authorized by the Landlord.
B. Destroying the property
C. Committing a crime in the property etc.

To remove a Tenant based on a non-monetary violation, a 7 day notice must be given. Consequently, if they fail to cure the violation, the Landlord can file an Eviction.

(3) A Tenant has remained in the property after the lease has expired. 

A Holdover Tenant is a Tenant that remains in the property after a lease expires. Since they are still there, an Eviction can be filed. In addition, the Landlord can recover double rent for every day they live in the property after the Termination date. 

There are several ways a Landlord can Evict Tenant in the State of Florida.  The Law Office of Brian P. Kowal, PA assists Landlords throughout the State of Florida. If you are a Landlord and need to evict a Tenant, contact our office at (954) 990-7552. 20